2017 UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE FINAL HOTELS, CARDIFF June 3RD & KIEV 2018 - CLICK HERE to BOOK HOTELS PACKAGES Match Preview: Chelsea FC vs Everton FC

Match Preview: Chelsea FC vs Everton FC

rsz_z

Chelsea return to Premier League action against Everton, following a disappointing loss against Manchester City in the FA Cup last weekend. Mourinho’s boys face the Toffees in an afternoon fixture this Saturday.

The corresponding fixture of last season ensured Champions League football for the Blues this season as Fernando Torres secured a top 4 finish with his winning goal after Steven Naismith had nullified an early Juan Mata lead. Times have changed rapidly, with Jose Mourinho taking over from the interim Rafa Benitez. Juan Mata has moved to new pastures as well.

This time round, the tie is again very crucial as a favourable result will boost Chelsea’s bid for the Premier League title.

DATE & TIME: February 22, 2014 at 07:45 EST; February 22, 2014 at 12:45 GMT; February 22, 2014 at 13:45 WAT; February 22, 2014 at 14:45 CAT; February 22, 2014 at 15:45 EAT; February 22, 2014 at 18:15 IST.

VENUE: Stamford Bridge, London, England.

TV/STREAMING NEWS: The match will be telecast live on Fox Sports 1/Play in Australia, TSN2 in Canada, ESPN +Sur?+Andina in Colombia, Canal+ Sport in France, Sky Sport 1/HD in Germany, Star Sports 4 & Star Sports HD2 in India, Fox Sports HD in Italy, J Sports 4 in Japan, Astro Supersport in Malaysia, Fox Sports 2 in Netherlands, Canal+ Fútbol HD, GOL T & Gol Stadium in Spain, BBC One & BT Sport 1 in UK and NBCSN in USA.
The match is available online on NBC Sports Live Extra in USA.
You can also catch the game on BBC Radio 5 Live in UK and TalkSport Radio if you’re in Australia, Canada, Malaysia or UK.

CHELSEA FC SQUAD NEWS: Marco van Ginkel is the long-term absentee. John Terry is still doubtful and might face a late fitness test.
Predicted Starting XI: Cech, Ivanovic, Cahill, Luiz, Azpilicueta, Matic, Lampard, Hazard, Oscar, Schúrlle, Torres.

EVERTON FC SQUAD NEWS: Bryan Oviedo, Darron Gibson, Antolin Alcaraz and Arouna Koné will miss the game owing to injuries. Steven Naismith is doubtful as well. Romelu Lukaku, who is nursing an injury, is ineligible.
Predicted Starting XI: Howard, Coleman, Jagielka, Baines, McCarthy, Barry, Mirallas, Barkley, Pienaar, Traoré.

REFEREE: Lee Probert.

FORM INDEX: Chelsea – WWDWWD; Everton – DWDLWL

FUN TRIVIA:

  • Chelsea are undefeated in their last 19 home matches against Everton in all competitions.
  • Everton have won just 1 of their last 6 away games in the Premier League.
  • Chelsea have conceded just 21 goals and have the tightest defense in the league.
  • There has been eight red cards in all previous encounters between these two teams, with Chelsea receiving 5 and Everton 3.

Chelsea looked lacklustre against Manchester City and West Brom last week, owing to tiredness. Chelsea need to avoid complacency and must be at the top of their game to beat Everton in this crucial game.

Comments

  1. By adam

    • By Mason Cole

    • By msreya

    • By alexcfc8

      • By xtian

  2. By Adetayor

  3. By Fik

  4. By wambua

  5. By Martin, Norway.

  6. By Martin, Norway.

  7. By A & A trading's

    • By K DHEERAJ

  8. By hassassin

  9. By Zyte

  10. By Neri Abayomi

    • By xtian

    • By FLENZY-CHELSEA

  11. By miles

  12. By alexcfc8

  13. By alexcfc8