2017 UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE FINAL HOTELS, CARDIFF June 3RD & KIEV 2018 - CLICK HERE to BOOK HOTELS PACKAGES Match Preview: Chelsea FC vs Liverpool FC

Match Preview: Chelsea FC vs Liverpool FC

rsz_1ss

Chelsea host Liverpool, who are one position below & one point behind the Blues in Premier League standings, in the last game of 2013. The Blues have shared a rivalry with the Kops which often goes beyond the pitch. With Suarez in smoking hot form & Chelsea strikers going through a rough patch, the tie promises to display significant in-game situations.

DATE & TIME: December 29, 2013 at 11:00 EST; December 29, 2013 at 16:00 GMT; December 29, 2013 at 17:00 WAT; December 29, 2013 at 18:00 CAT; December 29, 2013 at 19:00 EAT; December 29, 2013 at 21:30 IST.

VENUE: Stamford Bridge, London, United Kingdom.

TV/STREAMING NEWS: The match will be telecast live on Fox Sports 1 on Australia, Supersport 3 Africa in African sub-continent, Sportsnet East/West/World/Ontario/Pacific in Canada, ESPN Play Latin America in Colombia, Al Jazeera Sport HD1/HD6/+9/+10 in Egypt, Canal+ Sport in France, Sky Sport 1/HD in Germany, Star Sports 4 & Star Sports HD2 in India, Fox Sports HD in Italy, Astro Supersport 3 in Malaysia, Fox Sports 2 in Netherlands, Canal+ /HD/30 in Spain, Al Jazeera Sport HD1/HD6/+9/+10 in UAE, BBC One, Sky Sports 1/HD/3D in United Kingdom and NBC Sports Network in USA.
The match is available online on Fox Sports Go in Netherlands, NBC Sports Live Extra in USA, Sky Go in Germany & UK, SuperSport Streaming in Africa.
Chelsea TV and LFC TV Online will have live audio of the game.
You can also catch the game on TalkSport Radio if you’re in Australia or Canada or Malaysia or US and BBC Radio 5 Live if you’re in UK.

CHELSEA FC SQUAD NEWS: Marco van Ginkel and Ryan Bertrand did not receive any magic potion from Santa Claus on Christmas and are still injured. Ramires, having picked his 5th domestic yellow against Swansea City, is suspended for the tie.
Predicted Starting XI: Cech, Ivanovic, Luiz, Terry, Azpilicueta, Lampard, Mikel, Mata, Oscar, Hazard, Torres.

LIVERPOOL FC SQUAD NEWS: Sebastián Coates, José Enrique, Daniel Sturridge, Steven Gerrard and Jon Flanagan will miss the encounter through injury. Victor Moses, on loan from Chelsea, is ineligible to play.
Predicted Starting XI: Mignolet, Johnson, Skrtel, Sakho, Cissokho, Henderson, Leiva, Allen, Sterling, Suárez, Coutinho.

REFEREE: Howard Webb.

FORM INDEX: Chelsea – WWLWDW; Liverpool – LWWWWL.

THOUGHTS FROM THE ENEMY: Liverpool midfielder Lucas Leiva considers the Chelsea game as another opportunity to show their graft & consolidate their challenge for the title.

“That’s our main quality, when we press the team and try to play. We become a very hard team to beat. That’s the way we have to play every game; Sunday will be another opportunity for us to show that we have great momentum despite the defeat we had against Manchester City.”

FUN TRIVIA:

  • Chelsea have won 9 of their last 10 home matches in the Premier League.
  • Petr Cech requires one clean sheet to equal Peter Bonetti’s club record 208 in all competitions.
  • If selected, Fernando Torres will make his 150th appearance for the Blues.
  • If selected, John Terry will make his 600th appearance and join Ron Harris, Peter Bonetti & Frank Lampard as the only players to reach that milestone.
  • Jose Mourinho is unbeaten at Stamford Bridge in 69 Premier League games.
  • Liverpool have only failed to score in one away game this season, at Emirates.

Chelsea will look to end 2013 on a high and must play at their absolute best to ensure not falling behind in the race for the Premier League title.

“I think this year it will be not just hard to win the title, it will also be hard to get in the top four.”

Comments

  1. By Anonymous

    • By Iddi jr

  2. By Iddi jr

  3. By Anonymous

  4. By Anonymous

  5. By Zyte

  6. By GABBY

  7. By bestman

  8. By Neri Abayomi