2017 UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE FINAL HOTELS, CARDIFF June 3RD & KIEV 2018 - CLICK HERE to BOOK HOTELS PACKAGES Match Preview: Chelsea FC vs Manchester United FC

Match Preview: Chelsea FC vs Manchester United FC

rsz_z

Chelsea welcome English champions Manchester United this Sunday in the first reverse fixture of the season.

The corresponding fixture last season was marred with controversy with unfair sending off of Fernando Torres and a Manchester United goal which was allowed to stand in spite of Chicarito being offside. It also marked the commencement of downfall of the Roberto di Matteo regime.

This season it promises to be different with Manchester United struggling at seventh position and Chelsea considerably growing in stature & form.

Let us take a look at all the information we need beforehand.

DATE & TIME: January 19, 2014 at 11:00 EST; January 19, 2014 at 16:00 GMT; January 19, 2014 at 17:00 WAT; January 19, 2014 at 18:00 CAT; January 19, 2014 at 19:00 EAT; January 19, 2014 at 21:30 IST.

VENUE: Stamford Bridge, London, United Kingdom.

TV/STREAMING NEWS: The match will be telecast live on Fox Sports 1 on Australia, Supersport 3 Africa in African sub-continent, RDS 2 in Canada, DirecTV in Colombia, beIN Sports Arabia 1 HD/11 HD in Egypt, Canal+ Sport in France, Sky Sport 1/HD in Germany, Star Sports 4 & Star Sports HD2 in India, Fox Sports HD in Italy, J Sports 4 in Japan, Astro Supersport 3/HD in Malaysia, Fox Sports 2 in Netherlands, Canal+ 1/HD/30 & Gol Stadium in Spain,  beIN Sports Arabia 1 HD/11 HD in UAE, BBC One & Sky Sports 1/HD in United Kingdom and NBCSN in USA.
The match is available online on Fox Sports Go in Netherlands, NBC Sports Live Extra in USA, Sky Go in Germany & UK.
Chelsea TV will have live audio of the game.
You can also catch the game on TalkSport Radio if you’re in Australia, Canada, Malaysia or US and BBC Radio 5 Live if you’re in UK.

CHELSEA FC SQUAD NEWS: Marco van Ginkel is still injured, and so is Branislav Ivanovic. Frank Lampard returns to the squad, but it is unlikely he will start the game. Nemanja Matic will be a part of the matchday squad but won’t start. Ryan Bertrand has been loaned to Aston Villa and Kevin de Bruyne’s transfer to Wolfsburg is official.
Predicted Starting XI: Cech, Azpilicueta, Cahill, Terry, Cole, Ramires, Mikel, Willian, Oscar, Hazard, Torres.

MANCHESTER UNITED FC SQUAD NEWS: David Moyes has confirmed Robin van Persie and Wayne Rooney will be out for the clash, as will be Marouane Fellaini, Nani and Ashley Young. Fabio is suspended.
Predicted Starting XI: de Gea, Smalling, Vidic, Evans, Evra, Fletcher, Carrick, Valencia, Kagawa, Januzaj, Welbeck.

REFEREE: Phil Dowd.

FORM INDEX: Chelsea – WDWWWW; Manchester United – WWWWLW.

FUN TRIVIA:

  • Jose Mourinho is unbeaten at Stamford Bridge in 75 Premier League games.
  • Jose Mourinho’s next win will be his 100th Premier League win.
  • Chelsea have won 16 and drawn three of our last 19 home Premier League games.
  • Frank Lampard’s next goal will be the 250th in his club career.
  • Chelsea have kept a clean sheet in their last 3 matches against Manchester United in all competitions.
  • Manchester United have taken five points from a possible 24 in games against the current top eight.

Manchester United, in spite of their struggles, is a relatively strong side and can beat any team on it’s day. Chelsea must take their chances and stay away from complacency to score up a win against the red devils.

“We don’t play against a team that are 11 points behind the leader, we play against the champions, we play against Manchester United.”

Comments

  1. By wambua

  2. By Fik