2017 UEFA CHAMPIONS LEAGUE FINAL HOTELS, CARDIFF June 3RD & KIEV 2018 - CLICK HERE to BOOK HOTELS PACKAGES UEFA Champions League Match Preview: Atlético Madrid vs Chelsea FC

UEFA Champions League Match Preview: Atlético Madrid vs Chelsea FC

BlvxhsQIAAAQbGp

Here we come Atlético!

Chelsea have travelled to Spain to face Atlético in the first leg of the UEFA Champions League semi-finals, following a shock defeat to Sunderland at home last weekend, which has all but ended Chelsea’s hopes for the Premier League title.

Chelsea defeated Paris-Saint Germain in the quarter-finals on a 3-3(away goal) scoreline and will face the La Liga leaders who defeated fellow Spainish rivals Barcelona 2-1 in the quarter-finals.

DATE & TIME: April 22, 2014 at 14:45 EST; April 22, 2014 at 19:45 GMT; April 22, 2014 at 19:45 WAT; April 22, 2014 at 20:45 CAT; April 22, 2014 at 21:45 EAT; April 23, 2014 at 00:15 IST.

VENUE: Vicente Calderon, Madrid, Spain.

TV/STREAMING NEWS: The match will be telecast live on ESPN Australia/Pacific Rim in Australia, SuperSport 3 Africa in African continent, Sportsnet East/West/Pacific/Ontario in Canada, Fox Sports Cono Sur in Colombia, beIN Sports Arabia 1 HD/2 HD/11 HD/13 HD in Egypt, Ten HD/Action/Sports in India, Sky Calcio 1 in Italy, Sukachan 0 in Japan, TVE in Spain, beIN Sports Arabia 1 HD/2 HD/11 HD/13 HD in UAE, ITV 1 in UK and Fox Sports 1 in USA.
The match is available online on UEFA.com internationally, Sportsnet World Online in Canada, Sky Go in Germany, Ten Sports Live in India, ITV Live Player in UK and FoxSoccer2Go in USA.
You can also catch the game on BBC Radio 5 Live in UK.

ATLÉTICO MADRID SQUAD NEWS: Arda Turan is doubtful for the La Liga leaders with a groin injury. Thibaut Courtois is eligible to play against his parent club.

CHELSEA FC SQUAD NEWS: Samuel Eto’o has not travelled to Spain with the 20-man squad due to a minor injury. Although Eden Hazard has travelled, he is unlikely to start for the Blues. Branislav Ivanovic is suspended. Nemanja Matíc and Mohammad Salah are suspended. Marco van Ginkel may be on the bench for the first time after recovering from his cruciate ligament injury.

REFEREE: Jonas Eriksson(Sweden).

COMPETITION FORM INDEX: Atlético – DWWWDW; Chelsea – LWDWLW.

FUN TRIVIA:

  • The last time Chelsea faced Atlético in the 2009/10 UEFA Champions League group stage, the Blues collected four points from their Spanish rivals to finish top of Group D.
  • Atlético are the only unbeaten side remaining in the competition and boast the meanest defence, having conceded only five goals in ten games.
  • Atlético defeated Chelsea in the 2012 UEFA Super Cup through a Radamel Falcao hat-trick.

Atlético are a difficult proposition at home and have been in tremendous form, not losing a single game in this season’s European competition. Away goal will be crucial and considering the fact that Chelsea play at home in the second leg, a draw can be considered a bonus.

Comments

  1. By Anonymous

  2. By Zyte

  3. By alexcfc8

  4. By Anonymous

  5. By Anonymous

  6. By Anonymous

  7. By sbo